Iterative, simulation-based shape modification by free-form deformation of the NC programs

Sacharow, A.1, a; Odendahl, S.1, b; Peuker, A.1, c; Biermann, D.1, d; Surmann, T.1, e; Zabel, A.1, f

1)
Institut für Spanende Fertigung, Technische Universität Dortmund, Baroper Str. 303, 44227 Dortmund

a) sacharow@isf.de; b) odendahl@isf.de; c) peuker@isf.de; d) biermann@isf.de; e) surmann@isf.de; f) zabel@isf.de

Kurzfassung

In production engineering, there are several applications where the geometry of a designed workpiece has to be modified, e.g., optimization of forming tools during springback compensation in sheet metal forming. In general, the modified shape of the workpiece is given as a mesh and has to be converted to a parametric representation by surface reconstruction before manufacturing. In this paper, a new approach for obtaining small shape modifications by direct deformation of the NC programs is presented. In an iterative process, the CAM data is modified by a free-form deformation and is verified by a milling simulation so that the modified workpiece can be manufactured directly on the basis of the original CAD/CAM data without surface reconstruction.

Schlüsselwörter

CAD/CAM, Shape modification, Free-form deformation, Milling, Simulation, Springback

Veröffentlichung

Advances in Engineering Software, 56 (2013), S. 63-71, doi: 10.1016/j.advengsoft.2012.11.007