Laser based surface and post coating treatment of cutting tools

Michel, S.1, a; Bathe, T.1, b; Iovkov, I.1, c; Biermann, D.1, d; Kuhle, B.2, e; Kanitz, A.2, f; Esen, C.2, g

1)
Institut für Spanende Fertigung, Technische Universität Dortmund, Baroper Str. 303, 44227 Dortmund
2)
Lehrstuhl für Laseranwendungstechnik, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Universitätsstraße 150, 44801 Bochum

a) michel@isf.de; b) bathe@isf.de; c) iovkov@isf.de; d) biermann@isf.de; e) kuhle@lat.rub.de; f) kanitz@lat.rub.de; g) esen@lat.rub.de

Kurzfassung

Higher demands on the workpiece quality in the mobility sector result in the necessity to extend the capabilities of cutting tools when manufacturing parts made of carbon fibre reinforced plastics (CFRP) and Inconel 718. Therefore, an approach of a laser ablation process was examined to improve the machining behaviour of diamond coated tools when machining CFRP and to adjust the coolant supply of solid carbide drills when machining Inconel 718. To evaluate the wear behaviour and mechanisms when machining CFRP, non-coated tools and also tools with a partly removed diamond coating were used to examine the abrasive wear mechanisms under orthogonal cutting conditions. Based on the findings of these investigations, it can be shown that the cutting edge abrades rapidly due to the high abrasiveness of the imbedded carbon fibres. As a result of this wear mechanism, the rounded cutting edges lead to diminished workpiece qualities. To improve the machining behaviour of those tools, an approach of a laser ablation method, using a ultra-short pulsed laser beam, was utilized to remove the diamond coating. Additionally, investigations with a modified flank face for drilling Inconel 718 were carried out. The modified flank face was generated by the same laser ablation process in order to increase the tool performance significantly. The integrated groove limits the width of flank wear and allows an improved cooling supply of the thermally high loaded peripheral corner.

Schlüsselwörter

Cutting tools, Laser ablation, CFRP, Inconel 718

Veröffentlichung

In: Proceedings of Lasers in Manufacturing, 26.6.-29.6. 2017, Munich, Germany